STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA
SEX OFFENDER DUTY TO REGISTER

The sex offender registration laws in SDCL 22-24B-1 through 22-24B-32 apply to any person who has been
convicted (either upon a verdict or a plea of guilty or plea of nolo contendere), or who has received a
suspended imposition of sentence that has not been disc ar%ed pursuant to SDCL (23A-27-14), of a sex
crime or attempted sex crime, as defined by SDCL 22-24B-15 (as amended). A foreign criminal conviction
which requires registration as a sex offerder pursuant to the laws of the state where the conviction took place
also requires registration in South Dakota within 5 days of arrival into this state. The laws also apply to any
juvenile fifteen years of age or older adjudicated of a sex crime of Sexual Contact with a person incapable of
consenting as set forth in SDCL 22-22-7.2; SDCL 22-24B-1(1) Rape as set forthin SDCL 22-22-1 or SDCL
22-24B-1(9) promotion of prostitution of a minor as set forth in SDCL 22-23-2 (2). Juveniles with out of
state or federal offenses comparable to these crimes must register. If acrime is committed in another state
in which the juvenile has been adjudicated to register as a sex offender in that state, they must also register in
South Dakota. Registration requires submission of certain information, including the offender’s fingerprints,
photograph, signature, DNA and other information.

An offender must register within 5 days of coming into any county to reside, temporarily domicile, attend
school, attend post-secondary education classes or work. Any offender registering in this state who is
employed, carries on a vocation, or attends post secondary classes at an institution of higher education,
institution of higher learning or technical institute in this state shall, within 5 days of any commencement or
termination of such enrollment or employment, report to the registering agencK where the institution is
located and complete a Registration Update form.  The registering agency is the Chief of Police of the
MuUNICi Eality where the offender resides, domiciles, attends school, attends post-secondary education classes
or works, or, if no Chief of Police exists, then it is the county Sheriff. Any offender registered in South
Dakota who plans to enter another state to work, carry on avocation or attend school must comply with that
state’ s registration requirements as well.

Any change of residence addr ess requires the offender to submit, within 5 days of the move, a Registration
Update form to the law enforcement agency where the offender last registered. An offender registered in
South Dakota who moves to another state must notify the registering agency in South Dakota where the
offender last registered and provide information of their new address. The offender must also comply with
any registration requirements in the new state of residency.

Offenders must register every (6) six months. They are first required to register on their birth month and
then required to register six ﬁ6) months after their birth month Each offender registered in South Dakota
must go to the South Dakota law enforcement agency where the offender last registered. The offender will
be sent once a year a nonforwardable verification form to their last known address. The offender is required
to Crletur% tlgele verification form to the Division of Crimina Investigation within 10 days. Failure to comply is
aClass ony.

Those required to register as sex offenders may NOT establish a residence or reside within a “community
safety zone”. The community safety zone is 500 feet from the facilities and grounds of any school, public
park, public playground, or public pool.

A violation of theregistration lawsisa Cls 6 Felony. Any subsequent violation isa Cls 5 Felony.




Please Print or Type - List additional information on a separate piece of paper and attach, if necessary.

Offender Name:

Last First Middle
Date of Birth: Social Security #: / /
Planned Physical Address Upon Release:

Street Address Street Name City County State Zip
Date of Release / Parole / Discharge / Other

Expected Length of Stay: Phone: ( )

| certify that my duty to register as a sex offender has been explained to me. | further certify the information
| have furnished is true to the best of my knowledge. | understand that false reporting is a criminal offense,
and that providing false information in this document will be considered failure to comply with SDCL 22-
24B-1 through 22-24B-32 thus subjecting me to criminal penalties.

Date Offender Signature

Advising Agency: Date:

| certify that | have required the above-listed offender to read and sign the foregoing Sex Offender Duty To Register Form, and |
have explained the procedure for registration as required of mein SDCL 22-24B-13 or SDCL 22-24B-14.

Name
(please print)
Signature
Advising agency shall mail within three days to the law enforcement registering agency where offender will reside, and to the
Division of Criminal Investigation, 1302 East Highway 14, Suite 5, Pierre, SD 57501-8505. SD:DCI (06/06)

Thisis NOT the Registration Form.

Report to your local law enforcement agency within EIVE daysto register.
PROVIDE A COPY OF DUTY TO THE OFFENDER.
MAIL COPIESTO : PROSECUTING ATTORNEY ; AGENCY WHERE OFFENDER WILL RESIDE ; DCI
DCI GEORGE SMICKELSON BUILDING 1302 EAST HIGHWAY 14 SUITE 5 PIERRE SD 57501-8505




